Cobie Smulders Talks “THE AVENGERS” #MARVEL #Avengers #HIMYM

Image

From the latest issue of SFX MagazineHow I Met Your Mother actress Cobie Smulders discussed her appearance as Agent Maria Hill in Marvel’s The Avengers flick. Essentially sharing her initial approach to the role, potential “female bonding” with Black Widow, and relationship with Nick Fury, read on below! 

How was it working with Joss Whedon? 
It was everything they said it would be. I’ve wanted to work with Joss for a long time now. I auditioned and then he saw the tape and I was brought in to screen test with him. I somehow convined him to give me the part. 

Do you get to bond with Black Widow much? 
There’s not a lot of female bonding because of the central story. I’d like to think behind the scenes they were really good pals like the guys in the locker room. 

What was your approach to creating Maria Hill? 
I said to Joss and Marvel,”How would you like this to be done and I will try to do that to the best of my abilities.'” I wanted to bring out the things in her personality in the comic books that I liked, which was similar to what they had envisioned. 

What is Maria Hill’s relationship with Nick Fury? 
Maria Hill has an interesting relationship with Nick at the beginning. She really follows the rules and has a certain mentality when it comes to the way that she gets things done. I don’t think she necessarily agrees with Fury so there’s a lot of head-butting throughout the film as that relationship changes. 

Leave a Reply

